Go to main contentsGo to search barGo to main menu
Sunday, July 21, 2024 at 11:48 AM

Local Democrats Sawyer-Bryan Dinner 2019

Local Democrats Sawyer-Bryan Dinner 2019
Submitted by Jeanette Strong -- The 2019 Sawyer-Bryan Dinner, sponsored by the Churchill County Democratic Central Committee, will be on Saturday, April 6. The dinner will be at the Fallon Convention Center, 100 Campus Way. The no-host social begins at 6 p.m., and serving for the buffet dinner begins at 7 p.m. Formerly known as the Jefferson-Jackson Dinner, the dinner’s name was changed in 2016 because local Democrats wanted a name that honored Nevada and reflected the values of the modern Democratic Party. Gov. Grant Sawyer was a tireless worker for civil rights in Nevada. Senator Richard Bryan was governor of Nevada from 1983-1989, and then U.S. Senator from 1989-2001, always working for the people of Nevada. Keynote speaker for the dinner will be Lt. Gov. Kate Marshall, who was the Nevada State Treasurer from January 2007 – January 2015. As treasurer, she reduced state spending, made government more efficient, and promoted increased economic development in Nevada.  She was elected to her current position in November, 2018. Other scheduled special guests will be Catherine Byrne, Nevada State Controller; Assemblywoman Brittney Miller, District 5; Marty McGarry, Nevada State Democratic Party 1st Vice Chair; Marla Turner, Nevada State Democratic Party Secretary; and Kimi Cole, Rural Nevada Democratic Caucus Chair. Ana’s Café is catering the dinner, with a menu including wood-fired tri-tip and lemon herb chicken. There will be a dessert auction, along with a silent auction and raffle. For more information or to buy tickets, contact Nyla Howell at 775-867-4229 or by email at [email protected]. Read more local news at The Fallon Post home page.