Go to main contentsGo to search barGo to main menu
Sunday, July 21, 2024 at 12:09 PM

VFW Post Scholarship Winners

Fallon Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1002 have selected the 2023-2024 Scholarship winners for the Patriots Pen and the Voice of Democracy Scholarship Awards, along with Teacher of the Year.
VFW Post Scholarship Winners

The VFW Post has selected Heather Benjamin, an English Language Arts instructor at Churchill County High School, as its 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year—the selection garners Benjamin a certificate and $100.
The Patriots Pen Program is an essay-based scholarship award for sixth through eighth graders. This year’s theme was “How Are You Inspired by America?”

Patriot's Pen
First place - Penelopi Doyen - Oasis - $75
Second place - Gianna Salisburg - Oasis - $65
Third place - Makenzie Schroeder - Oasis - $55
Fourth place - Zoey Lougheed - Logos - $45
Fifth place - Maison Lavalley - Logos - $35.

The Voice of Democracy essay-based scholarship program is for ninth through twelfth graders. This year’s theme was “What are the Greatest Attributes of Our Democracy?”

Voice of Democracy
First place - Allie Fait - CCHS - $100
Second place - Christina Robinson - $75
Third place - Lakota Casey - $50

Congratulations to all the winners!