Go to main contentsGo to search barGo to main menu
Tuesday, June 18, 2024 at 8:04 PM

Local Nonprofit Selects New Leadership

Local Nonprofit Selects New Leadership
Submitted courtesy of the LEAD On organization --  The LEAD On Board of Directors selected four new board of directors and seven executive team members to carry out the nonprofit’s mission for the 2019-20 academic year. Monica Davis was selected to serve as president; Sarah Courser as executive vice president; Paolo Narag as vice president of development; Garrett Kalt as vice president of communication; Alan Kalt as vice president of fundraising; Shannon Garcia as treasurer; Pam Moore as administrative assistant; and Summer Stephens, Jordan Nichols, Maggie O’Flaherty and Kathleen Williams-Miller as board members. According to the nonprofit’s bylaws, the mission of LEAD On is “to develop and cultivate high school students within Churchill County to become community leaders equipped with the knowledge and skills necessary to improve their respective communities and have a successful future.” Monica Davis (President) was raised in Fallon and graduated from Churchill County High School (CCHS) in 2014. She earned her degree in Secondary Education from the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) and currently teaches seventh grade English at the Churchill County Middle School. I am excited to be a part of LEAD On because I believe in the mission of leadership, personal development, and service to one's community,” Davis said. “My hope for the youth of Churchill County and beyond is that they learn to appreciate what makes them remarkable and that they never stop seeking personal growth.” Sarah Courser (Executive Vice President) is Senior at CCHS. She attended LEAD On’s Leadership Summit last year and will be leading the coordination of this year’s LEAD On Ambassador Program. “My hope for Churchill County youth is that we will come to realize life only happens once,” Courser said. “We should follow our dreams, be authentic, and be leaders in our community.” Paolo Narag (VP of Development) graduated from CCHS in 2014 and completed his Business Administration degree from the Kenan-Flager Business School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He now lives in Boston, MA where he is an Account Executive for Procter & Gamble. “I hope Churchill County youth come to realize that coming from a small Nevada town is not a disadvantage but a chance to write their own story,” Narag said. “Just like everyone else, Churchill County youth have the power to do anything they put their mind to.” Garrett Kalt (VP of Communication) also graduated from CCHS in 2014. He is a proud Washington State University Coug and recently completed his MSc in Politics and Communication at the London School of Economics and Political Science. “It is special witnessing the change this organization has on our youth and community at large,” Kalt said. “Our team is dedicated to ensuring every Churchill County youth knows and believes that they can do and become anyone they set out to be. We are excited about year three.” Alan Kalt (VP of Fundraising) is a certified public accountant and served as the Churchill County Comptroller/Chief Financial Officer from 1992-2018. He currently works with POOL/PACT and teaches classes for Extended Studies at the University of Nevada, Reno. “An investment into the youth of our community is an investment into the future, and all the amazing things they will accomplish,” Kalt said. “LEAD On is a way that I can give back to the community that has given my children so many opportunities.” Shannon Garcia (Treasurer) moved to Fallon 14 years ago to teach in Churchill County. She taught 1st grade for Churchill County School District for ten years and is currently a 1st/2nd-grade math teacher at Oasis Academy. “I am excited to reconnect with students whom I have taught in the past,” said Garcia. “I'm excited to see them prepare for their future.” Pam Moore (Administrative Assistant) was born and raised in Fallon and attended Churchill County schools through the 9th grade. She currently serves as the Deputy Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners. “I am excited about the opportunity to join this fine team in reaching our youth and developing their leadership potential,” Moore said. “This organization has great leaders and volunteers, their mentorship is invaluable in developing our youth for tomorrow.” Summer Stephens (Board Member) has been the superintendent for Churchill County School District since July 2018. Previously, she held the superintendency at Weston County School District #7 in Upton, Wyoming. “As a LEAD On board member, I am looking forward to building a team of invested community members who strive to elevate the youth of our community to heights they may have never been able to imagine,” Stephens said. “We have a community full of inquisitive, thoughtful, and caring youth who are on the path to awesome!” Jordan Nichols (Board Member) grew up in Fallon and graduated from CCHS in 1996. She works for Churchill County Juvenile Justice and is involved in the Churchill County Coalition as a member and Community Resource Liaison. “I would love to see our youth inspire our community to improve our own lives,” Nichols said. “Their enthusiasm, optimism, and ability to make positive change is wanted and needed.” Maggie O’Flaherty (Board Member) is a Nevada native and 2015 graduate of CCHS. She earned her B.A. in Political Science from UNR and currently works as a Policy Analyst with McDonald Carano LLP. “I’m excited to have the chance to give back to the community that has given me and my family so much,” O’Flaherty said. “Churchill County has always been our home and I’m eager to work on behalf of LEAD On to further community engagement amongst our youth.” Kathleen Williams-Miller (Board Member) was one of the first LEAD On Board Members when the organization was created two years ago. She enjoyed teaching for 27 years and her greatest joy was teaching gifted/talented education. “This organization has and will continue to make a positive impact in the lives of Churchill County youth,” said Williams-Miller. “Don’t miss out on the next leadership summit!” LEAD On selected the aforementioned individuals through an open and advertised application process. The organization’s bylaws state the duration of service for board members as two years, and executive team members as one year. Andy Lenon, Paolo Narag and Sarah Frey are continuing their service on the board. For more information about the local nonprofit, please visit their website: https://leadonnevada.org/       Never miss the local news -- read more on The Fallon Post home page. If you enjoy The Fallon Post, please support our effort to provide local, independent news and make a contribution today.  Your contribution makes possible this online news source for all things Fallon.