Election filing period opens Monday

  • 2022-03-04, 05:00 AM
  • Robert Perea
Election filing period opens Monday

In a little more than three months, voters will start casting ballots for their choices for a host of state and local races. Starting next week, they’ll find out who their choices are.

The non-judicial candidate filing period begins next Monday, March 7 and runs through March 18. The 2022 primary election will be held Tuesday, June 14, with early voting running from Saturday, May 28 to Friday, June 10. The general election will be Tuesday, November 8, with early voting Saturday, October 22 through Friday, November 4.

Mail-in ballots are being sent to all registered voters, unless they have returned their Mail Ballot Preference Form to opt out of receiving a mail-in ballot. All registered voters in Churchill County may vote in person during the published early voting hours or from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day, as long as they have not returned a mail-in ballot.

Already, several candidates for statewide and local offices have declared their candidacy.

Governor Steve Sisolak is being challenged by a crowded field of Republican candidates, which includes Former U.S. Senator Dean Heller, North Las Vegas Mayor John Lee, Clark County Sheriff Joe Lombardo, Reno attorney Joey Gilbert and businessman Guy Nohra of Reno.

This election season will be the first time the City of Fallon elections will be held during the regular election season. Traditionally, city elections have been held in the off-election years with voting held in May of the odd-numbered years. A change during the 2019 Legislative session with Assembly Bill 50 moves municipal elections to be in line with the general election schedule.

Assembly District 38 representative Robin Titus has announced she is running for the State Senate seat being vacated by James Settelmeyer, who has termed out. Churchill County Commissioner Greg Koenig and Lyon County Commissioner Vida Keller have announced they are running for the Assembly District 38 seat.

Commissioner Pete Olsen was originally elected in 2010 and will be termed-out having served 12 years as a county commissioner, leaving his seat open.

Residents of the City of Fallon will receive a ballot with the city races listed in addition to the rest of the ballot. In the City of Fallon, open seats are Ward 1, Councilwoman Kelly Frost; and Councilman James Richardson reaching his term limit leaving an open seat in Ward 3.

Additionally, the county offices up for election will be: Assessor, Denise Mondhink-Felton; Clerk/Treasurer, Linda Rothery; District Attorney, Art Mallory; Public Administration, Bob Getto; Recorder, Tasha Hessey; Sheriff, Richard Hickox; Board Of School Trustees, (Vote for 4) Fred Buckmaster, Amber Getto, Matt Hyde, Carmen Schank; Mosquito Abatement, (Vote For 3) Thomas Hutchings (Christy Lattin & Michael Spencer termed out).


Robert Perea



Comments (0)

Adding comment means accepting the rules and regulations. Vulgar, offensive content that violates the rules and regulations will be removed.

By submitting comments, you accept the rules and regulations of the portal. (company name) located  in (city) is the administrator of your personal data for purposes related to the use of the website. According to law, providing personal data is voluntary, the User has the right to access their data at all times and correct them.